Social Work Licensure in the State of Nevada


Learn about getting licensed as a Social Worker in Nevada. Additional information can be found on the State of Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers website.

Virtual Review Course/Prep Test 

The NASW-Nevada Chapter LSW/LCSW Review Course is a unique course which will cover the format and structure of the LSW/LCSW examination as well as the most current content areas as determined by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) for licensure. Practice questions will be reviewed to illustrate test-taking strategies and reinforce content material.

For more information and to register for an upcoming course goto: https://naswnv.socialworkers.org/Events/LSW-LCSW-Review-Course

Licensure in Nevada: What You Need to Know


Though the NASW-Nevada Chapter is one of the driving forces behind licensure laws and practice, we are not the licensure board nor do we create or pass licensure laws in the state of Nevada. ALWAYS verify the information below with Nevada Board of Examiners to make sure the content is still applicable. 

Nevada Law

Nevada statute requires that any person engaged as a social worker must be licensed. Pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 641B.500, no person may represent themselves as a licensed social worker or licensed clinical social worker without obtaining the proper licensure.

State of Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers

4600 Kietzke Lane, #C121
Reno, NV 89502
Phone: (775) 688-2555
E-mail: slowery@besw.nv.gov

Website: http://socwork.nv.gov

Be sure to check their website for the most up-to-date contact information.

Levels of Licensure in Nevada

  • Licensed Social Worker (LSW)
  • Licensed Masters Social Worker (LMSW)
  • Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW)
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)

Qualifications for Licensure per the Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers

(as of June 1, 2021)

Preliminary qualifications for all levels:

  • At least 21 years of age
  • A citizen of the United States or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States

Licensed Social Worker (LSW)

  • Possesses a baccalaureate degree in social work from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or which is a candidate for such accreditation, AND
  • Passes the ASWB Bachelor’s examination.

Licensed Master’s Social Worker (LMSW)

  • Possesses a master’s degree in social work from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or which is a candidate for such accreditation, AND
  • Passes the ASWB Masters examination. 

Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW)

  • Possesses a master’s or doctoral degree in social work from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or which is a candidate for such accreditation, AND
  • Completes 3,000 hours of supervised, postgraduate social work approved by the State of Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers. The supervision must be provided by an Independent Social Worker or a Clinical Social Worker, AND
  • Passes the ASWB Advanced Generalist examination.

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)

  • Possesses a master’s degree in social work from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or which is a candidate for such accreditation, AND
  • Completes 3,000 hours of supervised, postgraduate clinical social work approved by the State of Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers.. At least 2,000 hours of the supervised, postgraduate clinical social work must be in the area of psychotherapeutic methods and techniques to persons, families, and groups to help in the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional conditions. The remaining hours may be completed in other areas of clinical social work. The supervision must be by a Clinical Social Worker, AND
  • Passes the ASWB Clinical examination.

A provisional license to practice as a Social Worker, Independent Social Worker, or Clinical Social Worker may be granted if all requirements for the license except the examination have been satisfactorily met. The examination must be taken within 60 days of the issuance of the provisional license. Additionally, a provisional license is available for no more than 3 years for persons who are enrolled in a program leading to a degree in social work from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education and have a related degree.

What are approved programs of social work?

  • Programs accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)
    or by the CSWE’s Foreign Equivalency Determination Service
  • Programs accredited by the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work

Fees (as of June 1, 2021)

LSW Level

  • Application Fee: $50.00
  • Initial License Fee: $125.00

    Additional Fees:
  • Applying for a Provisional License: $93.75
  • Applying for Licensure by Endorsement of a license from another state: $125.00
  • Annual renewal of an LSW license: $125.00

    LMSW Level

At the time of posting this (July 2021), the Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers has yet to update their fee schedule. Please check their website for the most recent information.

LCSW/LISW Level

  • Application Fee: $50.00
  • Initial License Fee: $125.00

    Additional Fees
  • Applying for Licensure by Endorsement of a license from another state: $125.00
  • Annual renewal of an LCSW/LISW license: $187.50

Armed Forces Discount on License Fee

  • 50% reduction on initial license fee
  • Applicant has verified eligibility as an active member of, or the spouse of an active member of the Armed Forces of the United States; is a veteran or a veteran’s surviving spouse.

Levels of Examination

Social work examinations are given on a national basis.

  • Bachelors (LSW)
  • Masters (LMSW)
  • Clinical (LCSW)
  • Advanced Generalist (LISW)

Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB)
17126 Mountain Run Vista Court, Culpeper, Virginia 22701
(800) 225-6880 (General) | (888) 579-3926 (Candidate Registration Center)
Website: www.aswb.orgE-mail: info@aswb.org

Testing

  • The state of Nevada uses examinations developed by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB bases exams on periodic surveys).
  • Tests are administered at various sites throughout the state utilizing a computer touchscreen. You are given four hours to complete the exam.
  • Each examination is graded immediately following completion and the participant informed of the results on-site.
  • Exams can be taken in any state in any designated site across the country as
    the scores will be forwarded to the licensing state upon completion for a fee of $30.00.
  • There is no limitation to the number of times the exam can be taken in Nevada;
    however, you must wait 90 days before retaking the exam.

When am I licensed?

You are licensed after you complete the appropriate paperwork, submit it to the Nevada Board of Examiners (BOE), pass the appropriate exam, and receive your license in the mail.


To download an application for either the LSW, LISW, or LCSW:

  • Click the application and forms that are applicable.

What rules and regulations am I bound to once I become licensed?

Licensure Renewals and Continuing Education Units (CEUs)

License renewals are due annually by the last day of the month of your birth.

If you fail to renew by your due date, you may NOT practice social work until all renewal requirements have been met.

Renew your license at http://services.socwork.nv.gov/lic/renew/index.asp.

How to earn CEUs

CEUs in Nevada are granted on a clock hour basis (1 hour of instruction = 1 CEU).

Continuing education requirements are due biannually. Please review your renewal form for your continuing education date deadlines.

LSW and LMSW

Must complete at least 30 continuing education hours every 2 years, of which 2 hours must be in suicide prevention and awareness, 4 hours must relate to ethics in the practice of social work, and 10 hours must be in the field of practice of the licensee.

LCSW and LISW

Must complete at least 36 continuing education hours every 2 years, of which 2 hours must be in suicide prevention and awareness, 4 hours must relate to ethics in the practice of social work, and 12 hours must be in the field of practice of the licensee.

Effective March 1, 2017 any CEUs that are approved by ASWB (Association of Social Work Boards) or NASW (National Association of Social Workers) will automatically be approved by the Social Work Board. You will no longer need to submit an approval for these trainings.

Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements

Upon the request of the licensee, the State of Nevada Board of Examiners for

Social Workers may waive all BUT the legislatively mandated suicide prevention continuing education requirements for a licensee who is at least 65 years of age and is retired from the practice of social work.

CEU Collection Cycles and CEU Content

The State of Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers collect continuing education units (CEUs) in two-year collection or reporting cycles. To find out whether you are on an even-year or odd-year cycle, you can go the "Verify a License" link on the State of Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers homepage and look yourself up. It will show you which year your CEU collection cycle ends.

When you are planning your CEUs, please remember that the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 641B.187.5 states: “a licensee may not take a program of continuing education which presents the same material he or she took during the immediately preceding reporting period.” This has been an issue for licensees related to their mandated suicide prevention CEUs. For example, if you had a 2019 collection cycle and took "Workshop A" in 2019, you could not take that workshop again until you were in your 2023 collection cycle.


How can the NASW-Nevada Chapter help you with licensure and continuing education? Why should I join?